Islington welcomes its new young leaders: Members of the youth council 2020 with council leader Richard Watts (left, foreground), Cllr Rakhia Ismail (centre), Cllr Kaya Comer-Schwartz (fourth from the right), and council chief executive Linzi Roberts-Egan (right)

06 Feb 2020

Islington welcomes its new young leaders

Islington Youth Council is helping to champion fairness and equality as two young people from Samuel Rhodes School have been elected for the first time.

Catherine and Husen, both students at the Islington special school, will stand on the Youth Council for two years and ensure that the voices of students with learning difficulties are represented.

Islington’s young people went to the polls on Monday (3 February), with a record number casting their vote at Lift and Platform Youth Hubs. The overall turnout was 43.5% and the turnout in schools reached 51.2%.

A record 39 candidates stood for election this time, with voting open to all Islington young people who either live or go to school in the borough, aged between 11 and 17.

Another first, Islington’s new school the London Screen Academy took part in the election with one candidate standing and ballot boxes open on polling day.

It was also the third election that candidate Honey Baker has stood and been elected in. She first stood and was elected to Islington Youth Council in 2016 and was chosen to be Young Mayor in 2018. She said she was “so happy to be elected again.”

Outgoing Young Mayor Lydia Banjo said: “It's been excellent to be Young Mayor and part of the Youth Council. It has opened up so many opportunities that wouldn't have been open to me. I wish the incoming Young Mayor and youth councillors good luck and say to them to have fun and enjoy it!”

Cllr Kaya Comer-Schwartz, Islington Council's executive member for children and families, said: "This has been an exciting election for everyone involved.

“I am delighted to see so many young people put themselves forward to represent their peers on issues that matter to them, and am equally pleased to see such a strong turnout.

“I look forward to working with the new Youth Council during the next two years.”

The results were announced on Tuesday (4 February) at Islington Assembly Hall.

The names of the elected candidates are:

Catherine Browne
Husen Abdullahi
Jessica Chukwu
Emmanuel Appiah-Kubi
Rosie Kurnaz
Muskan Khan
Melissa Williamson
Mariam Lawani
Honey Baker
Kacper Strek
Miriam Etuk
Juwaerat Ayanda
Simge Yilmaz
Salman Ayadi

Media contact Information

If you are a member of the media and would like more information please contact:

Islington Council media team – or 020 7527 2307.  Out of hours: 07769 163303

If you are a member of the public with a general question about the council please contact:

Contact Islington – or 020 7527 2000