Carer Virginia Bovell is presented with her award by the Mayor of Islington and Cllr Janet Burgess cropped

Nominations now open for Islington’s Dignity in Care Awards

Islington’s best social care workers, volunteers and community members will be recognised for the enormous contribution they make to families and the community, as nominations open for Islington Council’s 2024 Dignity in Care Awards. 

The annual awards shine a light on the vital role carers across Islington play in maintaining residents’ quality of life, helping them retain their dignity, stay independent and do more of the things they want.  

Anyone can make a nomination, with submissions open now until Friday, 12 July. 

Last year, judges whittled down more than 90 nominations – many of which were made by service users themselves and their families – to select 10 winners. This year’s winners will be unveiled at a glittering awards ceremony at Islington Assembly Hall on 16 September. 

Virginia Bovell, who cares for her son and is an active voice for people with learning disabilities in Islington, was a joint winner of the Family Carer of the Year award last year. She said: “It's thrilling even to be nominated, let alone to win an award. It’s great that the voice of family carers is really heard in Islington.” 

Cllr Flora Williamson, Executive Member for Health and Social Care, said: “Carers make an enormous positive contribution to the lives of so many people in Islington. They are often the unsung heroes, but the Dignity in Care Awards help to make sure carers get the recognition they deserve. It’s a wonderful opportunity for service users and their families to show how grateful they are to the people who improve their lives every single day.” 

John Everson, Islington’s Director of Adult Social Care, added: “It’s always a pleasure to read the nominations that flood in. If you know someone who deserves to be recognised for their care work, whether it’s a paid or unpaid, please show your appreciation and nominate them for an award.” 

This year’s award categories are: 

  • Care worker of the Year (home care and reablement) 
  • Care worker of the Year (care homes/nursing care/extra care) 
  • Care worker of the Year (supported living) 
  • Care worker of the Year (Shared Lives) 
  • Unpaid Carer of the Year 
  • Volunteer of the Year 
  • Outstanding Team Collaboration  
  • Special Recognition    

To nominate an inspirational care worker for the 2024 awards, visit the Dignity in Care Awards page on the council’s website

Contact information

If you are a member of the public with a general question about the council please view the contact information on our website or call 020 7527 2000.